Our website is currently being developed .... please bear with us.
Home Page

Cassiobury Infant and Nursery School

Learning together, growing together; inspiring our children in their journey through life.


Key Stage 1 Curriculum


The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called 'Key Stages' - KS1 encompasses children in Year 1 and Year 2. At Cassiobury Infant & Nursery School, Key Stage 1 comprises:


We deliver a broad and balanced curriculum underpinned by the teaching content of the National Curriculum, which provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. The National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by Primary schools so that children learn the same things; it covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject. For more information on the National Curriculum please visit


The school has due regard to the national curriculum at all times throughout the academic year for KS1 pupils and ensures every pupil has access to the following core subjects:


  • English
  • Maths
  • Science


We also ensure pupils are taught the following foundation subjects:


  • Art and design
  • Computing
  • Design and technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music


  • Physical Education
  • Relationships and Health Education



Our curriculum includes PSHE lessons  and RE lessons where topics such as, e.g. raising awareness of different cultures / faiths / religions / customs or anti-bullying, can be addressed.


The school follows: 'Jigsaw' for PSHE and 'The Hertfordshire Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education 2017-2022'.     

All provisions made regarding PSHE and RE lessons will be made in line with the school’s PSHE Policy and RE Policy.